Composer Pauline Oliveros

American composer Pauline Oliveros has won the William Schuman Award of $50,000. The Columbia University School of the Arts prize is named after the first reciepient, the composer William Schuman (1910-1992). She is known for her work in electronic music and her leadership in the development of a new generation of composers at the San Francisco Tape Music Center and the University of California, San Diego. Past winners include composers David Diamond, Gunther Schuller and Steve Reich.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: