David Bowie’s IPod

In the Guardian newspaper David Bowie listed the music he has been listening to recently. Here are selections (i. e. things I never heard of edited out.) The comments are his.
“I’ve chosen the songs that I’ve been playing the most over the last month. Here they are in no particular order.
El Ninõ – For with God No Thing Shall Be Impossible by John Adams; Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, Willard White, Dawn Upshaw, Lorraine Hunt
Lieberson, conducted by Kent Nagano
Just over a minute long and propulsive like a storm. I want to crush furniture. The emotional in search of the divine.
Nixon in China: Act I, Scene 1; ‘Soldiers of Heaven Hold the Sky’ by John Adams; Orchestra of St Luke’s, Edo de Waart
Adams’s minimalism disguises the rich romanticism of his melodies. Ever ascending, rising through the clouds.
Dinner at Eight by Rufus Wainwright
There aren’t that many son/father songs but this is the best of them as far as I know. Rufus is just simply one of the great writers.
Different Trains I: America-Before the War by Steve Reich; Kronos Quartet
One of the late 20th century’s most affecting works. I love the use of speech as a source for melody. But it’s so much more than a concept, it’s also impossibly moving.
Blue Skies by Josephine Baker
I’m not a big Baker fan but there’s something about this performance that touches me. I think it’s the break in her voice among all this gaiety and
optimism.
Jesus’ Blood Never Failed Me Yet: Tramp with Orchestra by Gavin Bryars; Hampton String Quartet, Michael Riesman and Orchestra”

Leave a Reply

